Poster Contest


Annual Poster Contest for Maryland Students in Grades 1 through 8.

The Maryland Council on Economic Educations annual poster contest for Maryland students in grades 1 through 8 was developed to help teachers stimulate interest in learning basic economic & personal finance concepts by giving students an opportunity to creatively demonstrate their understanding of one of the following economic concepts: scarcity; natural, human and capital resources; opportunity cost; producers and consumers; or goods and services; or personal finance concepts:  savings & Investing, taxes, markets, sources of income and philanthropy.

The 2018 winning posters will be made into a September, 2018-December, 2019 calendar available in Fall of 2018.

Click here for information and application on next year’s contest

2017-2018 Poster Contest Winners
Alexis Brown Sudlersville Middle, Queen Anne’s County
Natalie Fox Middletown Middle, Frederick County
Tyjah Brown Princess Anne Elementary, Somerset County
Josephine Andoh White Oak Middle, Montgomery County
Addison Fortenbery Windy Hill Middle, Calvert County
Jonathan Trujillo Stephen Decatur Middle, Worcester County
Kelly Ren Cabin John Middle, Montgomery County
Derika Swartsentruber Swan Meadow School, Garrett County
Nevaeh Campbell Bel Air Elementary, Harford County
Kaylin Burrell Sykesville Middle, Carroll County
Sophia Wolf Patapsco Middle, Howard County
Abigail Lum Galena Elementary, Kent County
Maggie Hubbard North Dorchester Middle, Dorchester County
Nai’Shanna Ballard Princess Anne Elementary, Somerset County
Morgan Vandre Middletown Middle, Frederick County
Caroline Ewing White Marsh Elementary, Talbot County
Tin Phan NW Academy of Health Sciences, Baltimore County












In 2017-2018 nearly 1,500 students from 41 elementary and middle schools in 14 Maryland school systems submitted posters to visually demonstrate their understanding of fundamental economic and personal finance concepts.
17 posters were selected for inclusion in a 2018-2019 calendar for distribution to teachers, schools and Council supporters.